# Election of Executive Officials

President: Mayor of Hiroshima (Japan)
Vice Presidents: Mayor of Nagasaki (Japan)

Mayor of Hannover (Germany) Mayor of Malakoff (France)

Mayor of Muntinlupa (Philippines) Lord Mayor of Manchester (UK)

Mayor of Ypres (Belgium) Mayor of Granollers (Spain) Mayor of Halabja (Iraq)

Mayor of Biograd na Moru (Croatia)

Mayor of Des Moines (USA) Mayor of Montreal (Canada)

Total: 12 Officials

## (Explanation)

- The Mayors of Volgograd (Russia), Frogn (Norway), and Mexico City (Mexico) have not been renominated, as they do not wish to be reappointed.
- The Secretariat did not hear from the Mayor of Fongo-Tongo (Cameroon) about his intention for reappointment.
- The Mayor of Montreal (Canada), currently serving as the Executive Member, will be appointed as the Vice President.
- The Other 11 Mayors will be reappointed.

## (Reference)

## **Covenant of the Mayors for Peace (excerpt)**

**Executive Officials** 

### **ARTICLE 4**

- 1. Executive Officials of the Organization shall consist of: one President; an appropriate number of Vice-Presidents and Executive Members.
- 2. The President and the Vice-President shall be elected by mayors of Solidarity Cities.
- 3. The President shall supervise and represent the Organization, and shall chair the Conference.
- 4. The Vice-President shall assist the President. In case of the inability of the President to carry out the duties of the office, the Vice-president shall fulfill the duties of the President.
- 5. The Executive Members shall be appointed from Solidarity Cities by the President with regional conditions taken into consideration.
- 6. The Executive Members shall assist the President and the Vice-President and shall act for the smooth management of the Organization.

#### Term of Office

### **ARTICLE 5**

- 1. The term of office of the Executive Officials shall be until such time that new Executive Officials are elected at a succeeding General Conference. Each office shall be open to reelection.
- 2. Whatever the stipulations of previous clauses, if a member-city mayor holding an elected office resigns or retires his or her mayoralty, the succeeding mayor shall assume said office. In such case, the succeeding officer's term shall last as long as the original term of the retiring or resigning officer.