## Election of Executive Officials (2017-2020)

○ Candidates for Executive Officials

President: Vice Presidents:	Mayor of Hiroshima (Japan) Mayor of Nagasaki (Japan) Lord Mayor of Hannover (Germany)
	Mayor of Volgograd (Russia)
	Mayor of Malakoff (France)
	Mayor of Muntinlupa (Philippines)
	Lord Mayor of Manchester (U.K.)
	Mayor of Ypres (Belgium)
	Mayor of Biograd na Moru (Croatia)
	Mayor of Granollers (Spain)
	Mayor of Halabja (Iraq)
	Mayor of Fongo-Tongo (Cameroon)
	Mayor of Mexico City (Mexico)
	Mayor of Frogn (Norway)
	Mayor of Des Moines, Iowa (U.S.A.)
Executives:	Governor of Bangkok (Thailand)
	Mayor of Fremantle (Australia)
	Mayor of Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
	Mayor of Semey (Kazakhstan)
	Mayor of Cochin (India)
	Mayor of Montreal (Canada)
	Mayor of Wellington (New Zealand)
	Mayor of Santos (Brazil)
	Mayor of Cartago (Costa Rica)
	Mayor of Tehran (Iran)
	Mayor of Grigny (France)

Total: 26 Executives

(Explanation)

- 1. Vice Presidents:
- The mayor of Akron, Ohio, U.S.A., has not been renominated, because of a declination of reappointment.
- The mayor of Des Moines, Iowa, U.S.A., currently serving as an Executive, will be appointed as a Vice President.
- Due to the change of city administration in June, the Secretariat has not yet confirmed the mayor of Brussel's intention to continue the Vice Presidency. We will confirm it when the new administration is launched and report it to the Executive Cities.
- The Other 13 Vice Presidents will be reappointed.

2. Executives:

- Ten Executives will be reappointed, except the mayor of Bogota, from whom we have not heard about his intention for reappointment.
- The mayor of Grigny, the President of Mayors for Peace French Chapter, will be appointed as a new Executive.

#### (Reference)

### COVENANT OF THE MAYORS FOR PEACE (Excerpt)

## **Executive Officials**

#### **ARTICLE 4**

- 1. Executive Officials of the Organization shall consist of: one President; an appropriate number of Vice-Presidents and Executive Members.
- 2. <u>The President and the Vice-President shall be elected by mayors of Solidarity Cities.</u>
- 3. The President shall supervise and represent the Organization, and shall chair the Conference.
- 4. The Vice-President shall assist the President. In case of the inability of the President to carry out the duties of the office, the Vice-president shall fulfill the duties of the President.
- 5. The Executive Members shall be appointed from Solidarity Cities by the President with regional conditions taken into consideration.
- 6. The Executive Members shall assist the President and the Vice-President and shall act for the smooth management of the Organization.

# Term of Office

- 1. <u>The term of office of the Executive Officials shall be until such time that new Executive Officials are elected at a succeeding General Conference. Each office shall be open to reelection.</u>
- 2. Whatever the stipulations of previous clauses, if a member-city mayor holding an elected office resigns or retires his or her mayoralty, the succeeding mayor shall assume said office. In such case, the succeeding officer's term shall last as long as the original term of the retiring or resigning officer.