## **Election of Executive Officials**

President: Vice Presidents:	Mayor of Hiroshima (Japan) Mayor of Nagasaki (Japan) Lord Mayor of Hannover (Germany) Mayor of Volgograd (Russia) Mayor of Malakoff (France) Mayor of Muntinlupa (Philippines) Lord Mayor of Manchester (U.K.) Mayor of Akron (U.S.) Mayor of Akron (U.S.) Mayor of Ypres (Belgium) Mayor of Biograd na Moru (Croatia) Mayor of Biograd na Moru (Croatia) Mayor of Granollers (Spain) Mayor of Brussels (Belgium) Mayor of Brussels (Belgium) Mayor of Fongo-Tongo (Cameroon) Mayor of Mexico City (Mexico)
	Mayor of Frogn (Norway)

Total: 16 Executives

(Explanation)

- 1. Among the candidates for Vice Presidents, the mayor of Fongo-Tongo, the mayor of Mexico City and the mayor of Frogn are currently Executive Members.
- 2. Other Vice Presidents will be reappointed.
- 3. The mayor of Florence (Italy, Vice President), the mayor of Montreal (Canada, Executive Member) and the mayor of Montevideo (Uruguay, Executive Member) have not been renominated, because of declination of reappointment.

#### (Reference)

# COVENANT OF THE MAYORS FOR PEACE (Excerpt)

#### Executive Officials

#### **ARTICLE 4**

- 1. Executive Officials of the Organization shall consist of: one President; an appropriate number of Vice-Presidents and Executive Members.
- 2. <u>The President and the Vice-President shall be elected by mayors of Solidarity Cities.</u>
- 3. The President shall supervise and represent the Organization, and shall chair the Conference.
- 4. The Vice-President shall assist the President. In case of the inability of the President to carry out the duties of the office, the Vice-president shall fulfill the duties of the President.
- 5. The Executive Members shall be appointed from Solidarity Cities by the President with regional conditions taken into consideration.
- 6. The Executive Members shall assist the President and the Vice-President and shall act for the smooth management of the Organization.

### Term of Office

#### **ARTICLE 5**

- 1. <u>The term of office of the Executive Officials shall be until such time that new Executive Officials are elected at a succeeding General Conference. Each office shall be open to reelection.</u>
- 2. Whatever the stipulations of previous clauses, if a member-city mayor holding an elected office resigns or retires his or her mayoralty, the succeeding mayor shall assume said office. In such case, the succeeding officer's term shall last as long as the original term of the retiring or resigning officer.