Election of Executive Cities

1. Candidates of Executive Cities

President: Mayor of Hiroshima (Japan) Vice President: Mayor of Nagasaki (Japan)

Lord Mayor of Hannover (Germany)

Mayor of Malakoff (France)

Lord Mayor of Manchester (U.K.) Councilor of Muntinlupa (Philippines)

Mayor of Volgograd (Russia)

Mayor of Akron (U.S.)

Mayor of Christchurch (New Zealand)

Mayor of Florence (Italy)

Mayor of Laakdal (Belgium) <u>Total: 11 Executives</u>

2. Reference

Covenant of the Mayors for Peace (Excerpt)

Chapter III Executive Officials

Executive Officials

ARTICLE 4

- 1. Executive Officials of the Organization shall consist of: one President; an appropriate number of Vice-Presidents and Executive Members.
- 2. The President and the Vice-President shall be elected by Solidarity Cities.
- 3. The President shall supervise and represent the Organization, and shall chair the Conference.
- 4. The Vice-President shall assist the President. In case of the inability of the President to carry out the duties of the office, the Vice-president shall fulfill the duties of the President.
- 5. The Executive Members shall be appointed from Solidarity Cities by the President with regional conditions taken into consideration.
- 6. The Executive Members shall assist the President and the Vice-President and shall act for the smooth management of the Organization.

Term of Office

ARTICLE 5

- 1. The term of office of the Executive Officials shall be until such time that new Executive Officials are elected at a succeeding General Conference. Each office shall be open to reelection.
- 2. Whatever the stipulations of previous clauses, if a member-city mayor holding an elected office resigns or retires his or her mayoralty, the succeeding mayor shall assume said office. In such case, the succeeding officer's term shall last as long as the original term of the retiring or resigning officer.