• menu
  • Search
  • Log in
  • facebook
  • Japanese Site

About Us

Promotional Video

Outline, Mission, Structure

  • About Us
  • Mission
  • Members


In August 1945, single atomic bombs dropped on the cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki instantly reduced them to rubble, taking more than 210,000 precious lives. With more than 70 years since the bombings, many survivors (hibakusha) still suffer from the physical and emotional aftereffects of radiation. To spread throughout the world the hibakusha’s ardent wish symbolized in the message that “no one should ever suffer as we have”, and to ensure it is passed on to future generations, Hiroshima and Nagasaki remain steadfast in our assertion to the world that nuclear weapons are inhumane and continue to call for their abolition.

On June 24, 1982, at the 2nd UN Special Session on Disarmament held at the UN Headquarters in New York, then Mayor Takeshi Araki of Hiroshima called for cities throughout the world to transcend national borders and join in solidarity to work together to press for nuclear abolition. Subsequently, the Cities of Hiroshima and Nagasaki established “The World Conference of Mayors for Peace through Inter-city Solidarity” (now, Mayors for Peace), composed of mayors around the world who formally expressed support for this call. In 1991, the organization was registered as a NGO in Special Consultative Status with the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

*On August 5, 2001, the organization changed its name from “The World Conference of Mayors for Peace through Inter-city Solidarity” to “Mayors for Peace”.


The purposes of the "Mayors for Peace" are to contribute to the attainment of lasting world peace by arousing concern among citizens of the world for the total abolition of nuclear weapons through close solidarity among member cities as well as by striving to solve vital problems for the human race such as starvation and poverty, the plight of refugees, human rights abuses, and environmental degradation.



[Executive Cities]

The following 27 cities are executive cities.

  • President City
  •   Hiroshima (Japan)

  • Vice President Cities
  •   Nagasaki (Japan)
  •   Hannover (Germany)
  •   Volgograd (Russia)
  •   Malakoff (France)
  •   Muntinlupa (Philippines)
  •   Manchester (UK)
  •   Ypres (Belgium)
  •   Biograd na Moru (Croatia)
  •   Granollers (Spain)
  •   Halabja (Iraq)
  •   Fongo-Tongo (Cameroon)
  •   Mexico City (Mexico)
  •   Frogn (Norway)
  •   Des Moines (US)

  • Executive Cities
  •   Bangkok (Thailand)
  •   Fremantle (Australia)
  •   Sarajevo (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
  •   Semey (Kazakhstan)
  •   Cochin (India)
  •   Montreal (Canada)
  •   Wellington (New Zealand)
  •   Santos (Brazil)
  •   Cartago (Costa Rica)
  •   Tehran (Iran)
  •   Grigny (France)
  •   Cervia (Italy)

*Dashlined are Lead Cities in charge of their regional chapter: 24 cities


● Address c/o Hiroshima Peace Culture Foundation
1-5 Nakajima-cho, Naka-ku, Hiroshima 730-0811 JAPAN
● Contact E-mail:mayorcon@pcf.city.hiroshima.jp

Detail of the Mayors for Peace
Mayors for Peace Document Pack